Social Media Marketing

I came upon Entering Social Media the Right Way: Four Key Steps by MarketingProfs today. I found myself comparing their advice with my recent experience marketing through social media.

I started with a basic understanding of how to use Twitter and Facebook from personal use with friends. Add some research on how to reach a target audience in a non-marketing environment, and my trial and error experience supports that the MarketingProfs steps are a good starting place.

The four steps were Listen, Interact, React, and Sell.

As an independent writer, I found these steps all joined at the hip. I perused groups formed by my target audience and was then able to match articles I’d posted to interests expressed by group members. By participating in and contributing to on-going Facebook conversations, I was able to drive traffic to my articles and attract users to follow me on Twitter.

This core group would then visit new articles when I posted them on either Facebook or Twitter.

How have you used social media to market your business? What have your success rates been in these venues?

-Julie

Find out the benefits of social media in an upcoming post.

About Julie

Co-founder of Hallett Peak Copywriting.
This entry was posted in Marketing, Social Media. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

