My biggest business lesson

There are a lot of things to learn when starting a business. The biggest one for me was patience.

You can pour time and effort into a start-up, but really it all comes down to time. Your market needs to get used to you being there and get familiar with your product.

I had to learn this one several times before it sank in. My first experience was as a Photographer, I had to become familiar with event hosts. Most events in the area I was targeting already had a photographer, but I managed to get my foot in the door.

I managed to break even on this attempt, but didn’t give it enough time to take. Several hosts invited me back the following year, but I’d taken a full-time desk position over the winter and didn’t have the time.

My second experience with patience was writing for examiner.com as a Pet-Friendly-Places Examiner. This attempt was much more successful.

A series of 16 articles, created over three months, and marketed to local dog friendly groups through social media proved successful. I managed to reach over 150 people in a single week during the peak.

I learned that if you have something people want, and you keep showing up on their radar, you will get business eventually. Just be ready to support yourself until then.

What is the biggest lesson you’ve learned from your business?

-Julie

About Julie

Co-founder of Hallett Peak Copywriting.
This entry was posted in Business, Lessons Learned. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

